You are currently not logged in.  Logon or register to access more features. Vision-Riders.com is a FREE service provided by Victory Riders Network.

Search:

Trunk running lights
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Discussion -> Vision Tech Q&AMessage format

OzBiker
Posted 2015-06-05 10:48 AM (#172682)
Subject: Trunk running lights

New user

Lakes Entrance, VIC Australia
Hi Guys, Brand new here. I'm also brand new to Victory as I've only just bought a 2009 Victory Vision Tour a week ago. I'm in Australia and that may have something to do with my problem, but I'm not sure.

My question is about the red running lights towards the top on either side the trunk. Mine do not operate under any conditions. They don't come on when the lights are on and engine is running, and they don't come on when the brake is applied.

The lenses have globes in them, and there are wires running to both of the lenses, and the main plug at the base of the trunk, under the seat, is plugged in. The internal boot light works just fine, so power is getting up the wiring loom into the trunk. The bike is totally stock and has now only done 7,400 klms (approx 4,500 miles). Yeah, I know, lows miles for that age, but the older guy who owned it had knee surgery not long after he bought it and was hoping to be able to ride it again when he recovered. He ended up realizing he was never getting on it again and finally put it on the market.

I have spoken to the service department at the Victory dealership in Melbourne (where it was bought from) and they claim that those lenses are just reflectors and not working lights. They even went as far as to say that they doubted the lenses had globes in them. I can see that the lenses have globes, and I also know that they can be made to operate from the YouTube clips of bikes in the States, as well as from the many threads on this forum about making them flash and/or operate as brake lights.