You are currently not logged in.  Logon or register to access more features. Vision-Riders.com is a FREE service provided by Victory Riders Network.

Search:

Auxiliary horns: What not to waste time with.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Reviews -> Product ReviewsMessage format

bigwill5150
Posted 2012-08-31 8:51 PM (#122701)
Subject: Auxiliary horns: What not to waste time with.

Iron Butt

Reno County, KS
I've been playing with aftermarket horns for a few years now. I generally install aftermarket auxiliary horns on my vehicles to aid with moving cattle and other animals off the roads. I've found that a compressed can air horn works pretty well if you are willing to exit the safety of your vehicle. I don't recommend this with wild animals or freeway rats for that matter...

I recently went through my accumulated box-O'-horns and thinned out the herd that I had been accumulating. I connected each of these directly to the battery of my vehicle and tested them by hand two weeks ago. Here was my findings:

Stebel Nautilus: These are the V-R forum burner's favorites. Probably due to their small size. Unfortunately, they are also relatively weak. Not as loud as OEM pickup truck horns. Cheap build quality. Bad reliability. Like many horns, these need to be installed so that moisture will not get trapped in them. Furthermore, I found that they are very finicky when it comes to weather tolerance. A little rain and they end up sounding muffled. This unit failed within 1 year of installation on my vision. After doing a quick search online, I found that my experience was common. I also found that these are a clone of a model you can get much cheaper at Harbor Freight. I subsequently tossed the replacement I was going to install into the trash. ?I would not recommend wasting time with this unit. This would probably have something to do with why Stebel went out of business for awhile.